Day 33 of 365 Things To Do Around Gig Harbor: Ikonos Greek Souvlaki

I did not try the Souvlaki. Instead I took the safe route and ordered up a beef/lamb gyro :)’ … excellent. I don’t eat Greek all the time, but do get an occasional craving. When I do, I usually find myself in line at the “It’s Greek to Me” drive thru located kitty corner from Jason Lee Middle School…a true dive with great food. However, the setting, cleanliness (or lack there of) and service leave a little something to be desired.  Ikonos gets 2 enthusiastic thumbs up for cleanliness, location and service … especially when comparing its counterpart.

I first discovered gyros while in Europe. Kiosks selling gyros are Europe’s fast food; that’s not to say there are no “fast food” restaurants in Europe, but they are very limited. In the entire city of Copenhagen, Denmark there was only 1 Burger King and 1 McDonald’s; for $10 you can get a #1 meal (Big Mac).  So, a gyro is a much cheaper alternative … especially for a starving college student. Anyway I digress, foreigners carve the spinning wheels of lamb/beef and serve up their version of fast food. The kiosks can be found walking along streets of Copenhagen, Paris, Stockholm and sometimes in Germany. Obviously, we here in America have our version of fast food … a much less healthy alternative. I did not have the same guilt and rotten feeling after scarfing an Ikonos gyro ….

Located in the Harbor Plaza at 4920 Point Fosdick Dr Nw, Gig Harbor check out their website for more menu options or driving directions… http://ikonosfood.com/index.php. A delicious alternative to America’s fast food.

About Tom Tuttle

A licensed real estate agent practicing in the Pierce County area for the last 10 years. I pride myself on repeat/referral business and a level of customer service unparalled in the industry. Prior to real estate, I taught middle school Language Arts for 10 years in the Tacoma School District. I graduated from Pacific Lutheran University with a masters degree in Educational Technology. I thank you for taking the time to read my blog! Click or call: 253-686-3992 me@tomtuttle.me
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

