Day 45 of 365 Things To Do Around Gig Harbor: Fondi Pizzeria

Day 45: Pizzeria Fondi. Fans of 365 Things To Around Gig Harbor voted Fondi the best pizza in Gig Harbor. Spiro’s (featured in one of the first postings …day 3) a runner-up and Round Table a close 3rd.  Located in Uptown Gig Harbor, Fondi pizzeria is a relatively new and welcomed addition to the Gig Harbor restaurant scene. Unlike most American-style pizza, Fondi brings a taste of authenticity from the ‘old country’…Italia. Although, my experience in Rome was less than satisfying, but I’m getting ahead of myself; read on.

  You won’t find a “Hawaiin-Style” or “Meat-Lovers” pizza on this menu. Instead, it’s a decidedly gourmet spin on an old classic with mozzarella, oregano, basil, Italian sausage, artichoke hearts and gorgonzola. I personally haven’t sampled any of these toppings. Instead, I ordered the classic margherita flat bread … very good. Certainly a more authentic taste of Italy.

Years ago, I had the privilege of spending a year in Europe. In my travels, I landed in Rome and immediately my thoughts were…”when in Rome, do as the Romans…eat pizza”. Well, I was young, naive and assumed since pizza originated there, it would be the best in the world; a rude awakening! First, the stereotypical Italian woman greeted us with scorn…not customer service. We order the “authnetica” and nearly lost our teeth biting into an olive with pits. The ham was square in shape and lacked the zesty flavor of Canadian bacon or pepperoni; nothing like Dominos!  So, we hopped a train to Sicily and feasted on Bolognese spaghetti, but that’s another story.

Here is  a sampling from Fondi’s menu:

Margherita

$9.95 Tomato sauce, house-made Quattro Gatti Mozzarella, fresh basil.

Sei (six) Cheese

$11.50 Tomato sauce, four-cheese blend, imported Gorgonzola, Quattro Gatti Mozzarella, fresh basil.

Bianco

$11.95 Four cheese blend, shaved garlic, Quattro Gatti Mozzarella, ricotta, fresh oregano.

Mamma Roma

$11.50 Italian sausage, caramelized onions, green olives, four cheese blend, tomato sauce, fresh oregano.

 http://fondi.com/page/home

http://spirosgh.com/

http://www.roundtablepizza.com/rtp/hi/

Category: Pizza  [Edit]

4621 Pt Fosdick Dr
Bldg 10, Ste 200
Gig Harbor, WA 98335

(253) 851-6666 www.fondi.com

Gig Harbor homes for sale

About Tom Tuttle

A licensed real estate agent practicing in the Pierce County area for the last 10 years. I pride myself on repeat/referral business and a level of customer service unparalled in the industry. Prior to real estate, I taught middle school Language Arts for 10 years in the Tacoma School District. I graduated from Pacific Lutheran University with a masters degree in Educational Technology. I thank you for taking the time to read my blog! Click or call: 253-686-3992 me@tomtuttle.me
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

