Day 47 of 365: Cutters Point. A GH Original

A Gig Harbor original. Founded in Gig Harbor in 2001, Cutters Point has expanded relatively quickly  adding approximately 2 locations each year with 3 locations in Gig Harbor alone (Uptown, Olympic Village & the corner drive thru behind Chevron off of Olympic Drive) .  They even have stores in Tucson AZ and as far away as Savannah, Georgia!  Their business model focuses on exceptional service and providing a warm inviting atmosphere; and of course…exceptional coffee. I would agree. While I do find myself in line at Starbucks from time to time, there is definitely more of a community connection here. And it’s not just the historic pictures on the wall, although that definitely helps. The employees do make you feel welcome and somehow the less-corporate attitude shines through.

My first experience with the drive thru behind the Chevron station (which few even know exists), I said, “Hey, I didn’t even know you had a drive thru. I usually go to Starbucks.”

” The friendly barista replied, “Yes. And to make sure you keep coming back, and we’re confident you will,  here’s a coffee card”.

Hmmm….well now that’s powerful suggestion with confidence. I liked it and she was right!  Another time, I paid a visit to purchase a $5 gift card for our 500th fan of 365 Things To Do Around Gig Harbor (by the way … they never claimed it), and the barista was more than helpful. She was cheerful, pleasant and very accommodating. I went  back a month later (today, in fact) and said, “Remember me? I left a gift card …”

The same barista picked up the card from the register area and said, ” I thought you looked familiar (showing me the envelope).” 

Sometimes you just want to go where everyone knows your name. It’s that personal touch, that sense of community and belonging that keeps you connected and coming back for more; the essence of Gig Harbor. Support your local Gig Harbor businesses! Yet another reason to love the Gig Harbor community!

About Tom Tuttle

A licensed real estate agent practicing in the Pierce County area for the last 10 years. I pride myself on repeat/referral business and a level of customer service unparalled in the industry. Prior to real estate, I taught middle school Language Arts for 10 years in the Tacoma School District. I graduated from Pacific Lutheran University with a masters degree in Educational Technology. I thank you for taking the time to read my blog! Click or call: 253-686-3992 me@tomtuttle.me
This entry was posted in Coffe shops/Deli/Bakery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

