Day 60: Welcome Bella Kitchen Essentials to Uptown Gig Harbor

Well, in with the new and out with the old (sort of). Good bye to Sip and say hello to Bella Kitchen Essentials: ” A unique, upscale kitchen boutique serving Gig Harbor at Uptown“.  Even Bella’s site says, “In Gig Harbor’s Uptown shopping center (next to Sip).” … I’m not sure the ‘ink’ had time to dry! Bella’s website is classy, tasteful and inviting … no different from the store. It is definitely a boutique: smaller in scale, fewer products and a bit pricey. I had the chance to preview the store on opening day (same day as the car show on Saturday). It’s Gig Harbor’s Pottery Barn or William Sonoma on a much, much smaller scale. The staff was welcoming and informative. And if I had the money, I would have bought a few candles … and if I really had the money, I might spring for the silverware tipped with deer horns (too immature for antlers) or probably the black-walnut-shafted knives with matching candles.

There in-lies the concern. Uptown was created in the middle of the ‘boom’ prior the ‘burst’. Many of its former tenants (Posh paw, Adam & Eve, Sip, and the baby boutique) have come and gone in a very short period of time. The same people buying $250 jeans from Adam and Eve are now shopping at Target or not shopping at all. This economy just won’t support these types of stores. Was Sip another casualty of ‘Up-scale’ Uptown that fizzled OR poor management? Not sure, but there is definitely a pattern here.

I am not saying they are all destined to fail. I really, really hope they all make it. I love Uptown! I’m going to miss Sip. So if you can, support your local businesses! In times like these, they really need your support. Good luck Bella. We are glad to have you as our newest member of the community and look forward to a lasting relationship.

Bella Kitchen Essentials
4793 Point Fosdick Drive NW
Suite #200
Gig Harbor, WA 98355
253-514-6924

About Tom Tuttle

A licensed real estate agent practicing in the Pierce County area for the last 10 years. I pride myself on repeat/referral business and a level of customer service unparalled in the industry. Prior to real estate, I taught middle school Language Arts for 10 years in the Tacoma School District. I graduated from Pacific Lutheran University with a masters degree in Educational Technology. I thank you for taking the time to read my blog! Click or call: 253-686-3992 me@tomtuttle.me
This entry was posted in shopping, stores, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

